Review of the Windows Phone 8X by HTC

The Windows Phone 8X by HTC (HTC 8X) was released back in November and we got our hands on one and have been using it for a while to give you all an in depth look at the phone and its good and bad points of the phone and not the OS… This is a review on the HTC 8X and not Windows Phone 8.

IMG_20130403_173208

The aesthetics of the HTC 8X are extremely pleasing overall with a rubberized uni-body design; our 8X is the Blue colour and looks stunning.

The 8X is around 0.25 inches thick (iPhone: 0.3, SGS4:0.31) and the edges of the device are tapered which helps to make it feel even thinner.
The phone is 130 grams which is quite light weight compared to the Nokia’s high end offering the Lumia 920 at 185 grams, although does fall slightly short of the iPhones 112 grams.

 

 

The Back of the device features the camera, the LED flash, the Beats Audio logo, the Speaker grill and some regulatory logos and models numbers.
The Speaker featured on this phone is a powerful 2 watt speaker powered by a dedicated sound amplifier chip and sounds quite good for a mobile phone, the sound is clear and the bass is there but doesn’t really have the “Beats Audio factor”.

The camera is an 8 Megapixel auto focus camera with a BSI 28mm lens with an F2.0 aperture which is supposed to be better in low light conditions. The camera also features 1080p video recording and a dedicated HTC Imaging chip.
Below we have some sample images for you:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

right side

 

The right hand side of the 8X is where the sim card slot, volume rocker and the camera button are placed, the volume rocker is nice to press and feels sturdy and I had no problems changing the volume of music when the phone was in my pocket. The camera button has a two-staged press: press it halfway and the camera will focus and down to full to take the picture. this again was nice to press and felt sturdy.
To insert the micros-sim into this phone you have to use the tool provided in the box and insert it into the phone, the slot is completely flush with the side of the phone and is completely unobtrusive.
The Left hand side of the phone is completely clean and has no buttons or slots on it, we wish HTC would have at least popped an SD card slot here though.

The top of the phone we can find a microphone, the power button and the headphone jack. The Headphone jack fits any 3.5mm headphone jack and gives out 2watts from the dedicated sound chip which we found to be plenty loud enough for any loud bus or car journey and the headphones supplied in the box are pretty good too.
The power button lets the phone down in our opinion, you have to reach to the top of the device to turn the screen on or off and sometimes you have to give it  a couple of goes to press it.

The bottom of the HTC 8X has a second microphone and the micro USB port. The microphones on this phone are good, voice in calls sounded clear and recorded video also had a clear sound to it.

Moving on to the front of the phone, the place that your going to see the most of, this has the screen (obviously), the front facing camera, a speaker for calls and the back, start and search keys.

IMG_20130403_173401

 

The screen on the HTC 8X is a 4.3″ Gorilla Glass 2 display with a 1280 by 800 (720p HD) resolution and 342 pixels per inch the iPhone’s Retina display is a 4″ screen with a 1136-by-640 resolution and 326 pixels per inch.
The screen is very crisp, looks fantastic and is very responsive however the colours are not as vibrant as you would find on a phone with an AMOLED screen.

The front facing camera is 2.1 mega pixels and features a wide angle lens, 1080p recording and an F2.0 aperture  The quality of the camera is pleasing for a front facing camera but isn’t the best.
The three buttons on the front of the phone are all capacitive touch buttons, when pressed the phone gives off haptic feedback and they light up, the only issue we had with them is that they can be accidentally pressed sometimes which gets annoying.

 

 

Overall the HTC 8X is a very well designed phone (apart from the power button) and packs some nice features including a good camera, good sound quality and great in call sound. The bad points of the phone are the buttons on the front sometimes being pressed, the power button placement and the lack of expandable storage.

We will try to get our hands on the Lumia 920 to put the two high end Windows Phones head to head for a winner.

Stay tunes for more reviews and news!

 

24 thoughts on “Review of the Windows Phone 8X by HTC

  1. Someone essentially assist to make seriously articles I might
    state. This is the first time I frequented your web page and to this point?
    I amazed with the research you made to make this actual submit incredible.
    Fantastic activity!

  2. I’ve read a few excellent stuff here. Certainly value bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you put to create one of these magnificent informative website.

  3. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your website. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it
    much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a designer to create your theme? Exceptional work!

  4. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward
    to fresh updates and will talk about this site with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

  5. You really make it seem really easy with your presentation but I
    find this topic to be really one thing which I believe I would by no means
    understand. It sort of feels too complex and very huge for
    me. I am looking ahead for your next put up, I will try to get the cling of it!

  6. That is really fascinating, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look ahead to searching for more of your magnificent post. Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  7. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

  8. I like the valuable info you supply on your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check once more here frequently. I’m somewhat sure
    I’ll be told many new stuff right here! Good luck for the following!

  9. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks!

  10. Its like you read my thoughts! You seem to grasp
    a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with a few % to drive the message house a bit,
    but other than that, this is great blog. An excellent read.
    I’ll certainly be back.

  11. Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on websites I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It will always be exciting to read through articles from other authors and use something from other web sites.

  12. I have been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never
    found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for
    me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as
    you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  13. I do trust all of the concepts you have introduced in
    your post. They are really convincing and will certainly work.
    Still, the posts are too short for newbies. May
    you please extend them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

